Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Latest News

9/17/2014 » 9/19/2014
2014 Annual Meeting and CLE/CEU Presentation

Newest Members
Featured Members
Edward W. TrapolinIrwin Fritchie Urquhart & Moore, LLC New Orleans, LA
Molly EidenMinnesota Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company, Minneapolis, MN

Our Gold/Silver Level Annual Meeting Sponsors




The Professional Liability Defense Federation™ is a not-for-profit organization designed to bring together attorneys, claims professionals and risk management specialists to share expertise and information helpful to the successful defense of professional liability claims.

Malpractice claims affecting different professions often present common procedural rule and substantive law elements. Although standard of care evidence differs among the professions, skills learned in the defense of one profession are often transferable to others.  PLDF’s goal is to harness this expertise in one organization devoted solely to improving the management and defense of professional liability claims. To accomplish its mission PLDF publishes the journal Professional Liability Defense Quarterly, sponsors an annual meeting offering valuable law development seminars and member connection opportunities, offers amicus support in important appellate proceedings, produces news summaries of national malpractice case developments, and facilitates confidential communications among members. 



Presentations by Professional Liability Defense Federation members at its Fifth Annual Meeting on September 18-19, 2014 include the following:

Kenneth M. Labbate, Mound Cotton Wollan & Greengrass, New York, NY (Cyber Liability)

Christopher B. Block, Marshall Dennehey Warner Coleman & Goggin, Roseland, NJ (Adjuster/Defense Counsel Collaboration)

Timothy J. Gephart, Minnesota Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company, Minneapolis, MN (State of the Professional Liability Insurance Market)

Geoffrey A. Bryce, Bryce Downey & Lenkov, LLC, Chicago, IL (Defense of Design Professionals)

Andrew W. Countryman, Carlock Copeland & Stair, LLP, Charleston, SC and Doug Holthus, Poling Law, Columbus, OH (Lawyers Professional Liability Defenses)

Rodney R. Cate, Hand Arendall, Mobile, AL and James E. Looper, Jr., Hall Booth Smith, P.C., Nashville, TN (Defense of Birth Injuries - Shoulder and Damages)

Albert J. D'Aquino, Goldberg Segalla, Buffalo, NY (FDIC Claims Against Lawyers and Bank Leaders)

W. Barry Montgomery, Kalbaugh Pfund & Messersmith, Richmond, VA and Edmund G. Farrell, Murchison & Cumming, LLP, Los Angeles, CA (Defense of Miscellaneous Professional Liability Claims)

Rolf E. Sonnesyn, Tomsche Sonnesyn & Tomsche, Minneapolis, MN (Insurer/Producer Tensions in Agent E&O Claims)

Mark V. Gende, Sweeny Wingate and Barrow, P.A., Columbia, SC, and James C. Goodwin, Sanders & Parks, P.C., Phoenix, AZ (Anesthesiology Claims and NPDB Updates)

Anthony E. Abeln, and Noel B. Dumas, Morrison Mahoney LLP, Boston, MA (Emerging Tort Risks in Medicinal Marijuana)

Paul C. Catsos, Thompson Bowie, LLP, Portland, ME (Challenging Life Care Plans)

Thomas D. Jensen, Lind Jensen Sullivan & Peterson, P.A., Minneapolis, MN (Defense of FINRA Arbitration Claims)

Thomas R. Nolasco, Engelman Berger, P.C., Phoenix, AZ (e-Discovery Update)

Michael E. Upchurch, Frazer Greene Upchurch & Baker, Mobile, AL (Preparing the Client for Deposition, Trial, Winning and Losing)

Robert E. Cooper, Christian & Small LLP, Birmingham, AL (Ethics in Jury Selection, Juror Misrepresentation and Social Media Effects)

Erin K. Higgins, Conn Kavanaugh, Boston, MA (Common Ethical Issues for Professional Liability Practitioners)

Erik P. Crep, Wicker Smith O'Hara McCoy & Ford, P.A., Miami, FL and Stuart T. O'Neal III, Burns White LLC, Philadelphia, PA (HIPAA, ACA, and MSA Defense Updates)

Professional Liability Defense Quarterly Summer 2014 issue has been published.  It may be found under the "Resources" tab above.  PLDF member Jonathan Cole and Connor Oakes have written on settle-and-sue lawsuits, PLDF member Bradley Nahrstadt has written on the scope of an insurance producer's duty to advise clients about coverage, PLDF member Karen Holmes and Justin Reid have written on architect E&O, and PLDF member Peter Biging and Jason Ederer have written on legal malpractice statutes of limitations.  We applaud their contributions to the professional liability defense conversation! 



Seminar details and registration information are available under Annual Meeting on the menu bar above.




Click on "Sponsor Opportunities" under "About" on the menu bar above.




Click on "Amicus Support" under "Resources" on the menu bar above.











PLDF © 2013 | 1350 AT&T Tower | 901 Marquette Avenue South | Minneapolis, MN 55402 | 612-481-4169 |